Matte Skin For Days

Hey, Everyone! Let’s talk about the Becca Matte Skin Shine Proof Foundation. I purchased mine from  sephora for $42 in the shade Nude. As a reference I am a Mac NC35-40, Coverfx G50, and Marc Jacobs Beige Golden. My skin type is oily/combination with acne scars and hyperpigmentation.

IMG_1853.JPG

Foundation is one of my favorite things to shop for. There is something about creating the perfect canvas that I really love. There are a couple things that I want in a foundation:

  1. Must be long wearing
  2. Must have Oil control
  3. Must look like skin

I almost always tend to mix foundations to get the perfect finish and color I want that day because I can be a little high maintenance with foundation. The search for the perfect foundation is not easy, my friends, but I’ll keep trying.

Lets talk about this matte foundation. This lasts a solid six hours on me for a regular, busy day before I start to see oil breaking through. This could last longer depending on how humid is it or your activity level. The consistency is on the “liquidy” side but it is not too thin. The best part of this foundation is the comfortable matte finish. If you have normal/combination skin you wouldn’t need to set with powder. However, my skin is very oily so I always set with powder.  This also has a very natural look on the skin and blends right into skin when applied. I love that it is not “cakey” even when layered. I always add a second layer to problematic areas for extra coverage. You won’t be able to get full coverage out of this, unless you have really good skin, but I don’t mind the medium coverage.

The only negative thing I have to say about this foundation is that when I first started using it I did notice it dried out parts of my skin. If I moisturize my skin well this isn’t a problem. I would definitely not recommend this to anyone prone to dry or dehydrated skin. If you have combination skin and are diligent with your skincare I think this is a beautiful foundation.

All things considered, I give this foundation a thumbs up. This is a yes for anyone with oily or combination skin, a maybe for normal skin, and a no for dry skin. If you’re shopping around for a summer foundation definitely give this one a look.

IMG_1846.JPG

The Good:

  • Long wearing
  • Oil control
  • Buildable medium coverage
  • Cruelty Free
  • Vegan

The Bad:

  • May dry out your skin after frequent use
  • Will emphasize dry patches

The Ugly:

For those of you that are ingredient conscious, this is not paraben free and it does contain some concerning preservatives.

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Nylon-12, Titanium Dioxide, Hydrogenated Didecene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Methicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Boron Nitride, Propylene Glycol, Methylparaben, Disodium Edta, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, May Contain: Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77492 (Iron Oxide), Ci 77491 (Iron Oxide), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxide).

 

Let me know if you have tried this and what your thoughts are. I hope this was helpful.

Leave a Reply

